top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilie Trepanier

What My Cat Taught Me about Living Life to the Fullest


Xander mistakenly took me to the shelter during our first week of marriage, thinking it would lift my stressed-out spirits… I guess my warnings of “If you take me to a shelter, I will adopt a cat,” came across as jokes to him.


So, on upon leaving Best Friends Animal Shelter, thinking we hadn’t found a new member of our family, I heard a deep, loud meow coming out of one of the towers. I turned around, and a face matching Grumpy Cat’s met mine. And, it continued to have a stare-down with me and meow.


I asked if we could meet Virginia. In the play room, she was chatty, affectionate, and a total purr machine. She charmed us, and we took her home. I tear up whenever I think about my cat – I did this even when she was alive and seemingly well. I may always have my dog with me, but Virginia holds an especially special place in my heart. Even up to the awful moment I had to watch her spirit leave her sick body, she continues to teach me some important life lessons.


Beds are comfy and warm.


Virginia was the Queen of our California King. She had no qualms with lounging all day and shedding all over my bed. Sometimes, we just need a break. It’s okay to take a day off. I remember researching “My cat sleeps for 22 hours a day, is she okay?” after having her for a week. It is okay! I’m not sure where the term “cat nap” originated from… but I assure you, most of a cat’s life is spent napping.


Greetings are always welcome.


Many say cats do not miss their owners. Well, I beg to differ. Without hesitation, Virginia would wake right up and say hello, then tell us all about her exciting day of eat, sleep, poop, repeat every time we came home. It never failed to lift my spirits. Imagine what life would be like if people didn’t just acknowledge us when we walked in a room, but said hello and asked us about our day? Don’t go crazy with it, but take a break from your phone and notice the people around you! Especially the ones who love you.

Virginia being a loaf of bread.

You can still be nice, even when you’re sick.


We adopted Virginia knowing she was a sick kitty with failing kidneys, which then became more and more health problems. This didn’t stop our lady from putting me first whenever I was sad. She was vomiting multiple times a day, had painful scabs all over her body and face, and yet she was making sure I knew she loved me. When I’m sick, I want a bell at my bedside and a personal therapist on speed dial. I am not that strong.


Empathy helps.


Yes, cats can be empathetic. She was more empathetic than any animal I have ever gotten to know. After having Virginia for a few months, a really difficult obstacle placed itself in mine and my spouse’s marriage. I was in bed for about a week because it was so depressing for me. I kid you not, Virginia did not leave my side that entire week, other than to use her litter box or eat. When I got my wisdom teeth removed, she stayed on my lap, purring the entire time. Whenever I was sick, she purred right by me. If I was happy one second then sad the next, she’d come right over to me the second my mood changed. She felt my energy changes so deeply.

Sometimes we called her Pennywise, can you guess why?

Being adaptable is attainable.


Like dogs, cats can also adapt to a new place. Before Virginia was diagnosed with kidney failure, she was moved from home to home because she couldn’t control her bladder. People chose to continuously give her up to the shelter instead of take her to the vet, and she dealt with kidney disease without any help for years. Sometimes I think her delayed aid in her illness was a huge reason she died so young. Despite this constant change of environment, when she found her pack, she stuck with them, and she was happy to do so. Life is challenging, especially when our friends come and go. This is my biggest life challenge. I put a lot of thought and effort into my friendships, so when they don’t work out, I get way too sad. Virginia has had family after family give up on her, and she still put compassion into new relationships.


Virginia told me when she needed something.


Imagine never having to wonder what someone needed from you or what they need in general? We never wondered with Virginia. She was a howler. Her litter box wasn’t as clean as she liked it? She howled. She wanted a second bowl of water next to her already full bowl? She howled. She was pissed at me for being gone to long? She waved her little head to the sky and howled like a deranged wolf. I’ve also read that cats purr when they want to comfort you, and themselves. She purred a lot. In this way, she told me she was in a state of comforting her sick body.


Virginia loved, hard.


This was the first trait of hers I noticed. She lived to love. Imagine if that was the standard we set for ourselves. When I wasn’t there, she slumbered. But when I was home, she was rubbing her face so hard on me, her teeth sometimes scratched me. Being loved that much never got old.


I have a special place in my heart for Virginia. I told her over and over again the day we put her down that she’d always be my girl. She was my companion. Cats can suck up so much negative energy, and she did that for me willingly and lovingly. I hope you brush your cat on a regular basis (Virginia’s green eyes got even bigger and she’d chat the whole way she meandered to me whenever she saw her brush) and give them Catnip often (watching their buzz is a treat for you, too).


Thank you, Ginny, for showing me that cats can be good, and that life can be better than I once thought – so long as I’m treating myself to extra sleep, letting go of the past, and loving my friends and family just a little bit harder.

I hope you're someplace warm and full of sunshine. Rest in Peace, Lady.
61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page