top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilie Trepanier

Reviewing My Garbage: Body Care Edition

This is a new series where I go through products I’ve used up and let you know my overall thoughts on them! For my first few posts I’ll be breaking these up between Hair, Skincare (Facial Sprays being their own category since they’re my fav and I go through so many of them), Body Care and Makeup! I’ll likely switch it up to being more regular after my first few initial posts.

All of the products listed are cruelty free. For full disclosure, Bath and Body Works recently updated their cruelty free statement to say “Bath & Body Works does not test any of our branded products, formulations or ingredients on animals. Period. The brand is expecting to pilot selling products in China during the summer of 2019. Any personal care products sold in China will be produced in China, which eliminates the Chinese government’s requirement for animal testing as that only applies to imported personal care products.” This is a very in-depth subject, but what is considered “cruelty free” to you may be different from me, so I wanted to be transparent about Bath & Body Works’ pilot program in China.


I’ve worked retail as a top seller (because I’m a fanatic, this isn’t me gassing myself up. It’s easy to get people pumped when you’re genuinely pumped) at both Bath and Body Works and The Body Shop. I LOVE smelling nice. I LOVE purchasing items for my shower because showers are sacred to me. I daydream about what I will smell like when going to new places. Anyway, I think you get the point, so let’s get into this!


Would repurchase: The Body Shop: Body Butters/Creams ($21)


I used up a Body Cream in Atlas Mountain Rose (only available in-store, unfortunately!) and a Body Butter in Vanilla Pumpkin; I almost finished a Body Butter in Honeymania (call in-store, no longer sold online even though this has been in their collection since the company began), but it expired before I was able to use it up. These all get 5/5 stars from me. I love them. Atlas Mountain Rose smells like crushed rose petals, and the sales associate will likely show you British Rose if you ask for a rose scent — British Rose is more of a bitter scent, Atlas Rose is sweeter and fresher. Vanilla Pumpkin is incredibly sweet (and seasonal, so stock up if you love it!); it smells like pumpkin spice cake. Something amazing about these Body Butters is I actually noticed them helping with my stretch marks! This is not a drill! Their hydration lasts 12+ hours!


Would repurchase. The Body Shop: Japanese Camellia Cream ($36)


The Camellia Sleep Cream is a very unique formula. It’s literally bouncy. It’s a really odd, interesting formula and I love it. I love this product because it’s light so that I don’t feel sticky in my sleep, and the scent is also light so it doesn’t overpower me while trying to sleep, yet it does relax me. Although the scent and product are light, they’re both long lasting. Plus, the packaging looks very luxurious! I’ve gone through one large of these and two travel sized ones.


Would not repurchase. Bath & Body Works: Body Lotions ($12.50-$13.50)


I used up Sweet Magnolia & Clementine and half of Vanilla Bean Noel before it expired, as well as a body lotion in Warm Milk & Honey from their Aromatherapy line. (These are all seasonal and can typically be found during either of their Semi-Annual sales; one in July and the other in December). I don’t like these formulas and I no longer purchase them, but Sweet Magnolia & Clementine is my favorite scent Bath & Body Works has ever released. It’s sweet and a bit fruity (I don’t typically gravitate to fruity scents) and it lasts a long time (fragrance doesn’t usually last on me at all). However, BBW’s body lotion formula isn’t hydrating at all. These products aren’t that great for your skin. The order ingredients are displayed on a bottle go from the largest amount of an ingredient to the least amount of an ingredient. This is very important to consider when making purchases! Where The Body Shop’s body care ingredients are ordered in a way that shows the stuff that’s best for your skin (shea butter & oils) first, to the stuff that’s less good for your skin (alcohol & fragrance), Bath & Body Works’ ingredients are almost exactly reversed. This means you’re getting mostly fragrance and alcohol in your skin as opposed to hydrating ingredients.


Prefer to only purchase mini sizes. Bath & Body Works: Body Creams ($13.50-$15.50)

I used up two creams from their Aromatherapy line (Black Chamomile and Warm Milk & Honey) and one cream from their regular line (Brown Sugar & Fig). Bath & Body Works’ Body Creams (specifically the ultra shea formula) are very soft and hydrating! I love them. However, the same thing goes for the ingredients here as for their body lotions. While the body creams are better than their lotions, they still aren’t fabulous for your skin. They are high in alcohol, which makes the scents stronger and longer-lasting than other fragranced lotions. When I used to work here, I sold one of the Black Chamomile’s nearly every time I showed it to a customer; I’d hand one to customers who were just there to smell stuff and they ended up making a purchase. This stuff smells so relaxing and claims to cleanse your sinuses and prevent sickness. I don’t know how much stock I give to that, but to each their own. The Warm Milk & Honey is relaxing but sweet. The Brown Sugar & Fig, while not apart of their Aromatherapy line, is another good scent for before bedtime. It’s light and sweet. (Besides the Chamomile one, these are typically sold during their Semi-Annual Sales).


Would absolutely joyfully repurchase. The Body Shop: Body Scrubs ($24-$32)


I used up three Mango Sugar Scrubs and one Brazilian Cupuacu Exfoliating Scrub-In Oil. I am absolutely obsessed with both of these! The Mango Sugar Scrub gets me excited to shower when I’m in a slump. The texture is so interesting, and the oils in it are super luxurious. I use this even when I don’t shave my legs and my skin is left feeling insanely soft! This is also a great option for those with fairly sensitive skin. The Brazilian Cupuacu scrub melts into an oil as you use it, leaving the skin unbelievably soft and glowy. It also smells really good; a little bit of warmth and florals. The only issue with the Cupuacu scrub is it will burn your skin wherever you have cuts and when used after shaving.


Would repurchase. St. Tropez: Self Tan Purity Bronzing Water Mousse ($42)


I tried this as a free sample when I made some other St. Tropez purchases, and the free sample had 1.69 oz in it and lasted for about three uses of my entire body neck to toe! I love this self tanner. It smells really great and the tan fades nicely in about a week. It also isn’t orangey on me.


Now time to take out the trash…


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page