top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilie Trepanier

Reviewing My Garbage: Misc. Skincare


This is a new series where I go through products I’ve used up and let you know my overall thoughts on them! For my first few posts I’ll be breaking these up between Hair, Skincare (Facial Sprays being their own category since they’re my fav and I go through so many of them), Body Care and Makeup! I’ll likely switch it up to being more regular after my first few initial posts.


All of the products listed are cruelty free.


Would not repurchase: Mario Badescu: Aloe Toner ($15)


So, I have no idea how I went through an entire bottle of this because I don’t even remember using it, which shows you how much of an impact it made on me. I’ve used a few of Mario Badescu’s skincare products and only trust the face sprays; most of their products aren’t actually that great for your skin. The hype surrounding them does not live up. Like I said, I don’t remember using it which tells me it likely burned my eyes (simply from being used anywhere around my eyes like my cheeks and forehead) and didn’t do much for redness, otherwise I would have repurchased it.


Would repurchase: The Body Shop: Camomile Waterproof Eye & Lip Makeup Remover ($18)


This is the only eye makeup remover I’ve found that doesn’t burn my eyes! Moving to Utah made my eyes especially irritated. They water a ton because they’re so dry and basically everything hurts them. This stuff is amazing and I use it with cotton pads — with a whole done up eye look, I only need one cotton pad per eye! For more on this product, check out my article 5 Skincare Products to Save Your Skin.


Would not purchase. Josie Maran: Whipped Argan Oil Face Butter ($42)


I only had a very tiny sample of this from an Ipsy bag but the scent is too strong for me to use, even though it’s technically unscented. This bothered my face and made it slightly itchy. I only used it a handful of times before tossing.


Would purchase. Ever Reveal: Biomimetic Peel Pads ($70)


I go more in-depth on these in my article 5 Skincare Products to Save Your Skin, but I was given this product for free through the app Influenster (literally all you do is review stuff and then the app sends you free stuff. Anyone can do it). These did change my skin, they’re just so dang expensive! They’re gentle exfoliating wipes and they work.


Would repurchase. The Body Shop: Camomile Fresh Micellar Cleansing Water ($20)


Again, I go more into this in my article 5 Skincare Products to Save Your Skin, but this is the best micellar water ever for people with sensitive skin! I don’t use it around my eye area (it burns) but I love using this when I’m lazily washing my face or in the morning as a quick wipe down before applying moisturizer. In short: this stuff is DA BOMB.


Undecided. Pixie Beauty Skintreats: Vitamin-C Juice Cleanser ($18)


This product isn’t pictured above because I’m reusing the packaging it came in (which I’ll get to, but I LOVE the packaging). This is a cleansing water, much like micellar water, which you use with a cotton pad and nothing else. Micellar waters are my favorite way to lazily remove my makeup and wash my face. As I mentioned before, I prefer to use them in the mornings for a quick wipe down on my face prior to moisturizer. This product claims to make your face glow (one of the many benefits of vitamin c) and I found that claim to be true! This is a fine product, nothing absolutely wowed me about it, but it does work and definitely cleans your face (even when you think your face is clean… this finds dirt deep in your pores). What I don’t like about it is the smell — I mean, I do like the smell, just not for my face. The packaging is one of those press bottles where you just press the cotton pad onto it. It’s so easy to use and efficient!


Happy cleansing!


11 views0 comments
bottom of page